Fairest (Novel Review)

22489107Name: Fairest
Series: The Lunar Chronicles #3.5
Author/s: Marissa Meyer
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance, Science Fiction
ISBN: 1250060559 (ISBN13: 9781250060556)
Date of Publish: January 27, 2015
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
Score: 4stars

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

In this stunning bridge book between Cress and Winter in the bestselling Lunar Chronicles, Queen Levana’s story is finally told.

Mirror, mirror on the wall,
Who is the fairest of them all?

            Fans of the Lunar Chronicles know Queen Levana as a ruler who uses her “glamour” to gain power. But long before she crossed paths with Cinder, Scarlet, and Cress, Levana lived a very different story – a story that has never been told . . . until now.

Marissa Meyer spins yet another unforgettable tale about love and war, deceit and death. This extraordinary book includes full-color art and an excerpt from Winter, the next book in the Lunar Chronicles series.


            I love how Merissa created this Fairest, for us to understand the whole series altogether. If this book wasn’t published and the other novellas at all I must say, I wouldn’t be able to love the characters deeply as they should be.

            I feel like this story is missing something. Something more. Like, it could have been more better, more emotional. Although it was wonderfully written, something in the words, sentences, paragraph, the way it was describing of it was lacking something more. I feel that it could have been perfect. The story for me was short, I’m craving for more. Even though it made me stop reading it for a day halfway through the book before I read it again.

This review will have mild spoilers, so please proceed with caution.

 

“A girl carved of regolith and dust.”

            I pitied Levana. I feel like I was feeling her soul, that I was within her; understanding her. She undergo such tragedy in her childhood by the hands of her wicked sister, Queen Channary. At first I love Channary, but when I’ve read Fairest, all of my sadness and love for her evaporated. My feelings for her was full of disgust and hatred inside, like dare she do that to Levana? Because of her, Levana grow up miserable. Levana didn’t experienced being loved at all. Much less being important to someone.

“I know you must be hurting now, but don’t give up hope on future happiness, and all the good things that are still to come for you.”

            Levana was (and still) in love with Evret. She was this clinging, desperate girl, hallucinating that Evret love her back that he just denying it just because she is a royalty. But the thing is, Evret will never love her back, not all that happened. I feel sad for Levana because she don’t and can’t help herself. If only Levana didn’t try so hard to fit in, to be accepted, to be loved.. then she wouldn’t feel and be the person she is now, wouldn’t she? Just as Evret says, if Levana showed her true face, herself without glamour, then maybe, maybe things will be different. Maybe, just maybe that he will be able to lover her back just as she hoping for, but they cannot bring the past anymore, and the time was wasted. 

“Love is a conquest. Love is a war. Here is what I think of love.”

            Levana thinks that there can be no greater ruler other than her. Because of her sister’s torture to her, the only thing that she can think of is that Princess Selene will be the same as her mother Channary, that is why she wanted Selene to die, in a revenge through fire. Because she doesn’t want Evret to leave her, she decided to kill him instead. Evret will only love her wife Solstice and their daughter Winter that Levana both hate.

            Levana, a girl once a lonely, needing of acceptance was now become twisted. Levana’s become numb because she failed to find her own place in her world. I myself, can’t blame her. Part of me hate Levana, for she didn’t even tried to save herself. But then, when I try to grasp the whole story of her, I gradually understood Levana’s place. She became a madwoman. She’s gasping for air. If only she didn’t lost herself, maybe she will be able to live the life she always wished for. Levana was lost.

Levana was the princess who wasn’t saved by her Prince Charming.

 

Leave a Reply

